Tel: 015396 20383 | Fax: 015396 21024
Email: office@settlebeck.org

Settlebeck School, Long Lane, Sedbergh, Cumbria, LA10 5AL

Curriculum

At Settlebeck students in years 7&8 are taught together. At the end of Y8 students pick two ptions to take for GCSE which they study alongside the core curriculum in Y9&10.  They sit their option subjects GCSEs at the end of Y10 and choose another two GCSE options to study in Y11.  At the end of Y11 they sit their Y11 option GCSE as well as their GCSEs in English, maths and science.

 

Subjects studied in Y7&8

 

 

 

 

 

 

Subject

English

Maths

Science

History

Geography

French

Product Design

Catering

Drama

Art

Music

PSHE

PE

ICT

RE

Number of lessons per week

4

4

4

2

2

2

2

2

1

1

1

1

2

1

1

 

Subjects studied in Y9/10

Subject

English

Maths

Science

RE

PE

Option 1*

Option 2*

Number of lessons per week

6

5

6

1

2

5

5

Students will sit their GCSE exams in their two options subjects and RE at the end of Y10.  They will continue to study English, maths and science in Y11.

*GCSE Option Choices in Y9/10.

Subjects studied in Y11

Subject

English

Maths

Science

PE

Option 1*

Option 2*

Number of lessons per week

6

4

6

2

6

6

Students will sit all their remaining exams at the end of Y11

*GCSE Option Choices in Y11

There is also an opportunity to follow an Outdoor Education programme instead of one of the GCSE options

If you would like any further information about any of the curriculum areas please use the contact details below.

Subject Area

Name

Email

English

Ms Sally Ingham

inghams@settlebeck.org

Maths

Mr Alan Dickinson

dickinsona@settlebeck.org

Science & Psychology

Ms Sarah Queen

queens@settlebeck.org

History

Mrs Karen Grant

grantk@settlebeck.org

Geography

Mr Douglas Martin

martind@settlebeck.org

Languages

Mr Paul Beach

beachp@settlebeck.org

Product Design & Resistant Materials

Mr Dave Jermy

jermyd@settlebeck.org

Catering, Food & Child Development

Mrs Helen Waring

waringh@settlebeck.org

Art & RE

Mrs Sophie Fish

fishs@settlebek.org

Drama

Ms Gill Rea

reag@settlebeck.org

Music

Mrs Jo Brennan

brennanj@settlebeck.org

PE

Mrs Lynsey Goodyear

goodyearl@settlebeck.org

Media

Mr Nick Richmond

richmondn@settlebeck.org

Outdoor Education & ICT

Mr Georg King

king@settlebeck.org

Special Educational Needs

Ms Julia McDonald

mcdonaldj@settlebeck.org